The Eagle has landed!

You know how studies have shown that remodeling your home is significantly more stressful than just having a swarm of soccer hooligans come over and completely trash it? (Yes, the scientific term for when there is more than five hooligans is swarm). After unspeakable mess and not having a functioning sink for four days, what do we have to show for it? A finished kitchen. Voila!

Before:

before-1before-2

 

After:img_12841

img_12811

Now, I can relate to new parents who bring their babies home from the hospital and just can’t stop staring. If you know me even a little, you know that I don’t do well in a cluttered environment. Adan and I used to love watching the show Monk and I think he mainly found it endearing that he thought the main character to be a slightly exaggerated version of his wife. Needless to say, I’m thrilled that each week, there is a little more order to our home. We couldn’t be happier with our kitchen. Really, we tried but it is just not possible.

In other breaking news, we saw the movie Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them and were pleasantly surprised. I do have one caveat, though. I know the movie came out a million years ago but if you haven’t yet and are considering letting your kids watch it, I should warn you that it’s pretty scary and probably not appropriate for children under the age of 25.

There is this one bit of dialogue that I especially liked:

Newt Scamander: Now, there’s absolutely nothing for you to worry about.

Jacob Kowalski: Tell me, has anyone ever believed you when you told them not to worry?

Newt Scamander: Well, my philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice.

I can relate because I tend to be in the camp that loves to suffer twice. Case in point, when I think about having kids, the very first thing that comes to mind is worry over what will happen if they can’t find a job in their field when they graduate from University. It takes a lot of calisthenics to work up to this level of finely tuned worry so don’t feel bad if you haven’t taken the time to worry about your as-of-yet-unborn children’s post-graduate careers.

Where was I? The movie was written by the ever so talented J.K. Rowling and though it takes place in the same world as Harry Potter, you don’t necessarily have to have read or watched the series to understand. (It does, I think, give you a deeper appreciation for the details if you have, though, and certain parts will seem funnier for it). Adan hated the movies and never read the books but was still entertained by Fantastic Beasts.

J.K. Rowling is, of course, full of these little gems in her dialogue. You know what I mean… wisdom wrapped in humor, ensconced in truth, with an outer shell of something so obvious that you marvel that you hadn’t thought of it yourself. I leave you with this example, my favorite Dumbledore-ism from the HP series: It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.

One thought on “The Eagle has landed!

Leave a Reply

